

# Wyoming Secretary of State

Chuck Gray Secretary of State Jesse Naiman Deputy Secretary of State

# New Notary Law Highlights - Effective July 1, 2021 Wyoming Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Acts

# Remote Notarizations

- Remote online notarizations (RON)
  - Platforms or other forms of communication technology
- Remote ink notarizations (RIN) \*for acknowledgments only\*
  - Both RON and RIN will be permanently allowed in Wyoming effective July 1, 2021
    - RON/RIN are options only traditional notarization can still be performed

## New Commission Process

- Notary public term will change from 4 years to 6 years
- Notary public fee will change from \$30 to \$60
- The new law does NOT require a notary bond
  - Notaries may still obtain a bond and/or E&O insurance
  - The bond and/or insurance will NOT be filed with the County Clerk
- The Secretary of State's Office will email the appointment letter and certificate of commission directly to the notary public when the commission process is completed

# New Stamp/Seal

- For any new or renewed commissions on or after July 1, a new stamp must be obtained with the following requirements
  - $_{\odot}$  Be rectangular in shape and approximately 1 inch wide by 2 ½ inches long
  - Be in blue or black ink
  - Have a border outline in which the text contained within the border includes:
    - Your notary public commission name
    - The words "Notary Public"
    - The words "State of Wyoming"
    - Your commission ID number
    - The words "My commission expires" followed by the expiration date of your notary public commission
  - Not include images of the Great Seal of the State of Wyoming or any other image or content other than as prescribed in this statute
  - County of residence CANNOT be included on the stamp/seal



Wyoming Secretary of State

Chuck Gray Secretary of State Jesse Naiman Deputy Secretary of State

Education Requirements

- Notaries public will be required to take an exam prior to a new or renewed commission
- Notaries public must certify that they completed an educational presentation
- Updated information to be posted on our website and commission application soon

Journal & Audio/Visual Recordings

- Notaries public must log every notarial act in their journal
- Journals may be maintained electronically or by hard copy
- Remote notarizations are required to maintain an audio/visual recording of the act

#### Fees for Notarial Acts

- The fee to charge for a Notarial Act will change from \$5 to \$10
- Notaries will be allowed to charge a technology fee
- Notaries may charge a mileage fee

## Non-Residents and Bordering States

- A non-resident may obtain a Wyoming notary public commission if employed in WY or if a spouse or legal dependent of the military on active duty in Wyoming
- Physical notarizations may be performed in any bordering state if the bordering state recognizes the notary's authority within that state

## Other notable areas

- Prohibits a notarial act with respect to a record to which the notary or their spouse/civil partner is a party, or in which either of them has a direct beneficial interest
- Language in the new law clarifies how to correct a notarial act
- Allows the Secretary of State the authority to deny, revoke, refuse to renew, suspend or condition a commission

For additional information, email <u>notaries@wyo.gov</u> or call 307.777.7370.